Manifesto.

Well, As any one reading my blog over the last 6 months will be able to tell, my art work is becoming more and more influenced by japanese prints, particularly that of the Edo period.
The simplicity of the designs and the obvious use of restricted colour are a source of inspiration. The simplification of difficult subject matter like trees and water is a lesson of refinement in itself. I love the economy of line and detail in these prints and of course the patterns.
However, 3 is the magic number! While I adore the works of japanese masters like Hokusai and Hiroshige I have to 2 other influences tugging at my shirt tales. Matisse and his wonderful graphic works and the sublime drawings of Leonardo da Vinci.

In a perfect world I would like to fuse all these three things together, I want to take these influences and use them as a stylistic compass. Punchy graphic shapes, beautifully drawn elements all carefully considered and economically coloured.

Big ask? yes!
Tall order yes!

I’m stepping up to the plate!

Here’s something I’m working on at the moment

2 thoughts on “Manifesto.

    • Happy new year Louise. Long time since those heady days at Croydon. Mind you I’m back doing some screen prints at east london printmakers.
      Bumped into a fella you said he new Denis, one of our printmaking teachers! blimey!

Leave a Reply

