Home > drawing, illustration, Illustrations > Bully illustration (part 3)

Bully illustration (part 3)

So continuing on from the last post… The men’s style “bully illustration”
I start putting the watercolour on. I tend to work one area at a time and stared with the little boys face, then on to those hammers. I work in layers working usually from light to dark.
Watercolour in progress, bully illustration
Then working up the hammers. I know there is going to be some graffiti in the background to echo those angles from the hammers so I’m not worried about them getting to dark.

Finally the graffiti and the brick work which i did with a wash then cut in the lines with a scalpel to get highlights.

  1. June 8, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    I love your process blogs keep them coming and great illustration as always.

  2. hmunro
    June 8, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Gorgeous work, Daniel — and a fascinating look at your creative process. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  3. June 8, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Now THAT is cool — love watching the evolution of the piece.

    Beautiful!

    Thank you,

    Mikalee

  4. June 8, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    i too, enjoy your sharing of process.
    in my day job i get to do one illo a week. i often find out about what the editor wants before the story is assigned. i then pester the writer for his/her lede from which i can get a visual metaphor. used to have time –now i have about 3-4 hrs over 2-3 shifts to get it done–to pencil several ideas out to show but now i just jabber them to the ed. and the writer and go with the one that is least disliked. often the writer has a change of mind so the drawing and the story don’t match. such is life. anyway they still let me draw.
    my bully drawing was that of a big shadow darkening a scared kid, the shadow and the kid were the same shape.
    i teach a digital–photoshop and ilustrator–drawing class. i explain the ukiyo-e process and give them a project like it. it relates more to what it is like to day than what the europeans were doing then. i like being thusly retro but not so much as to miss ulano blue.

  5. June 8, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    amazing what you can do with water and…well, colour ;p
    beautiful work :)

  6. June 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Buen claroscuro, hay un trabajo de sombras. buen efecto metálico en los martillos, y arrinconamiento con paredes de ladrillos. ¡buenissimo.!

  7. Eva McCane
    June 8, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    very cool to see the progression!

  8. June 8, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Beautiful perspective, and done in watercolor? Brilliant

    How long did this take you to complete?

  9. June 8, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Beautiful !
    Where can your work be purchased?

  10. HL BISE
    June 8, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    One of my teens was bullied, a few months ago; so (outside of your true talent) I like the way you’ve cornered the subject, adding the hammers—seems to be show the way my daughter was feeling on the inside. Displaying your work and thought processes here is captivating, to me. Good Stuff! Thanks for posting (and congrats on FP!).

  11. endlesscrossroads
    June 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Wow! Excellent job! It looks great!

  12. thor27
    June 8, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Interesting I don’t have the skill or patience for something like art. Those with it more power to them like the blog visit mine http://thor27.wordpress.com

  13. scicciosart170
    June 8, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    really nice!

  14. June 8, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Whoa!! Such talent!

  15. June 8, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    This is amazing work. I really enjoyed watching the process :) thanks for sharing.

  16. June 8, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    Very neat! I love watching the process. Check out my blog for something similar, but graphic design.

  17. June 8, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    Wow, that is some really amazing work. I’m trying to learn watercoloring myself– it’s so cool to see the process and the many layers!

  18. June 8, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Great work! You are an expert in watercolor!

    I did some illustration by water color pencil, and just want to ask you about your comment on watercolor pencil vs. water color.
    What do you think? Is there a great difference?
    I see your work shows layers of brilliant colors and I wonder if I can do it by water color pencil. Any suggestions on that?

  19. June 8, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    That’s coming along great!
    Reminds me of those terrifying marching hammers in that Pink Floyd film.
    I liked this so much that I’m now following you on twitter.
    Hello!

  20. June 8, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    My son was bullied. It`s a huge problem all over the place.
    Nice work!

  21. June 8, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I’ve never really used watercolour before, any attempt I had turned out a bit wrong but seeing how you have done it makes sense and points out where I have been going wrong, going from light to dark…I’m going to give this method a try! Thanks! Love the illustration and the methodology! Congrats on being FP’d! :)

  22. June 8, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I love your water color illustrations, your work is beautiful!

  23. June 8, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Very cool. It’s always so awesome to see the full artistic process. If you ever happen to be showing in galleries you should definitely post these images alongside the final copies!

  24. June 8, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I love art with a purpose, whether intentional or not. Great job.

  25. June 9, 2011 at 12:24 am

    hammers look great

  26. June 9, 2011 at 12:27 am

    Dude, this is amazing. I’m an artist myself but even this blows me out of the pencil stack. I like it, keep up the great work.

  27. June 9, 2011 at 12:36 am

    Nice job ;)

  28. June 9, 2011 at 12:36 am

    I forgot it, looks like The Wall by Pink floyd.. hehe :)

  29. June 9, 2011 at 1:52 am

    Awesome! I love the steely shine of the hammers. Watercolour is such an amazing medium. x

  30. June 9, 2011 at 2:51 am

    i love watching your creative process – i have tried to do something similar on my blog. for me i like to have a record of the various stages.. great work, great blog!

  31. June 9, 2011 at 3:08 am

    Cool.

  32. June 9, 2011 at 4:24 am

    great post..loved it..!

  33. June 9, 2011 at 5:12 am

    wow – great illustration! I loved seeing how it came together. :)

  34. June 9, 2011 at 5:56 am

    wow lovely work. You are a good artist no doubt!

  35. June 9, 2011 at 6:49 am

    looking great

  36. June 9, 2011 at 7:03 am

    The illustration is indeed very creative and innovative. It was a pleasure identifying with the illustration. Too good and no words can describe your skill at it. Keep it up!!!

  37. June 9, 2011 at 8:10 am

    I’m stunned. It’s a privilege to see the stages in an artists work. Thanks for sharing this with us and a few others friends:)

  38. June 9, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Amazing! this is one great work of art!

  39. June 9, 2011 at 9:41 am

    awesome work…

  40. June 9, 2011 at 10:05 am

    This is a great work of art :)

  41. June 9, 2011 at 11:12 am

    simply amazing

  42. June 9, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Fascinating to see your process – very generous of you to share it!

  43. ALIVE aLwaYs
    June 9, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I got nothing to say, I’m just going on to hit the like button.

  44. June 9, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Fantastic watercolor — I especially like how you colored the hammers. Neat to see the steps in your process of creating this artwork. Cool stuff!

  45. June 9, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    I learn so much from you. Thanks for the lessons and always thanks for sharing your work with us-the aspiring illustrators. Your work is so very expressive.

  46. June 10, 2011 at 7:17 am

    This is really cool…

  47. June 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Amazing work mate, truly inspirational. I’ve been following your work for sometime and your art work is simply senstaional.

    By the way, I have just made a new satirical post about lying, it’s quite funny and I would love some feedback.

    http://muzzydaudonsports.wordpress.com/2011/06/10/please-stop-with-your-excuses/

    Thanks!

  48. June 10, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks for all the feedback. I will definitely show some more work in sages, I’ll try and remember to take more photographs of the work in progress.
    All the best Daniel

  1. June 9, 2011 at 1:38 pm
  2. June 9, 2011 at 6:42 pm
  3. June 11, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,657 other followers

